Music News Pop Culture News Reviews

Rob Thomas: Something to Be Tour – Live at Red Rocks (DVD)

rob-thomas-live-dvdSinger/songwriter Rob Thomas first came into our collective musical consciences in the late 90s when Matchbox 20 exploded onto the scene. With a string of several Top 40 hit singles including “Push”, “3 A.M.” and “Real World”, Matchbox 20 would go on to sell over 12 million copies in the U.S. alone. Not to shabby for a band’s first outing. With his growing popularity, Thomas would go on to collaborate with the legendary Carlos Santana’s on his comeback album, ‘Supernatural’. with the song “Smooth”. That collaboration would go on to capture four Grammys — Record of the Year, Song of the Year, Best Vocal Performance Male, and Best Pop Collaboration with Vocals. In 2005, music fans would be treated to the release of Thomas’ first solo album titled ‘Something To Be’. The record promptly debuted at the number one position on the Billboard charts and would sell over 3 million copies. Another commercial success. Along the way, Thomas also has earned the Songwriter of the Year title from Billboard and BMI, not just once but for two consecutive years. Even with all of these accolades and having emerged from the last decade as one of musics most popular voices, Rob Thomas still remains one of music’s most underutilized talents.

Nothing showcases the talent that is Rob Thomas better than the recent release of his “Something To Be Tour – Live At Red Rocks” DVD. The performance was captured on film during a 2006 Tour stop at the Red Rocks Amphitheater in the foothills of the Colorado Rocky Mountains for the PBS series ‘Soundstage’. Red Rocks is one of the most awe inspiring concert venues in the United States and instantly adds an amazing aura to any concert experience. Through the years the venue has played host to other musical powerhouses such as The Beatles, John Denver, U2, Neil Young and The Dave Matthew Band, just to name a few.

robthomas-liveThis amazing concert venue serves as scenic backdrop but Thomas is the true focus of the show. The set starts out strong with “Something To Be” and continues to build steam from there, setting aside any doubt Thomas is a flash in the pan. In the 95 minute show, Thomas seamlessly blends the Matchbox 20 hits that launched him to super-stardom, such as “3 AM” and “Bent”, alongside his robust body solo work. Standout moments from his solo work that should peak the interest of fans old and new include “This Is How A Heart Breaks” and “Ever the Same.” Thomas’ musicianship is prominently displayed in the show as in addition to vocal duties, he plays guitar, piano and helps out the drummer by joining him during one of the songs. Anyone that has ever been to a live show knows that one of the key elements that can transform a great live show into a truly magical evening, is when the performer keeps you guessing throughout and then does a little something out of the ordinary to the show. Rob Thomas does just that with two gems — a cover of David Bowie’s classic song, “Let’s Dance” and great acoustic arrangement of his smash collaboration with Carlos Santana, “Smooth.” Both are not to be missed!

What sets this concert DVD apart from so many others is that there is rarely moment in the set that is less than captivating, be it from the songwriting, musicianship or the performance and it serves as a great sampling of the artists work. The biggest draw of this DVD is that is serves as both a great show for current fans and a fantastic jumping off point for discovering the work of this very gifted musician and songwriter. The concert DVD is comprised of 18-songs, seven of which were not aired on the original television broadcast. As an added bonus, a video for “Streetcorner Symphony” has been included to compliment the already powerful DVD. For the audio/video-philes out there, you will be happy to know that the performance was captured in High-Definition and mixed in 5.1 Surround Sound to capture the full essence of the show. Available in both DVD and Blu Ray formats.


1. Something To Be
2. Fallin’ To Pieces
3. If You’re Gone
4. When The Heartache Ends
5. Ever The Same
6. Not Just A Woman
7. 3AM
8. You Won’t Be Mine
9. The Difference
10. Bent
11. Problem Girl
12. Let’s Dance
13. Lonely No More
14. I Am An Illusion
15. Now Comes the Night
16. Smooth
17. You Know Me*
18. This Is How A Heart Breaks