Music News

New York Dolls To Release ‘Dancing Backward in High Heels’ In March

Blast Records is proud to announce the signing of the legendary NEW YORK DOLLS and the release of their fifth full-length album, “Dancing Backward in High Heels”, released in the UK on Monday 14th March 2011, followed by a full pan-European release on Friday 18th March 2011.

The follow-up to 2009’s “Cause I Sez So” was recorded in September 2010 at Blast Recording Studios in Newcastle, England with producer Jason Hill (Louis XIV/The Killers). The album features original NYD members, David Johansen (vocals) and Sylvain Sylvain (guitar) with Brian Delaney (drums), Jason Hill (bass) and original Blondie guitarist Frank Infante.

David Johansen and Sylvain Sylvain

The CD will be packaged with a bonus DVD filmed during the recording of the album, incorporating previously unseen footage and “live” audio tracks from the bands three sold-out performances at The Cluny venue in Newcastle, on September 4th, 5th and 6th 2010.

Sylvain Sylvain stated about the new recording: “I think this is the most creative record that the New York Dolls, and me and David in particular, have ever done.  We’ve worked with a lot of great people and I’m not putting anybody down and I’m not trying to compare it with earlier versions of The Dolls but as far as song-writing goes I think that these are the best songs that we have ever come up with”.

Click HERE to read Sylvain Sylvain’s exclusive interview The making of the new album – “Dancing Backward in High Heels” written by Mick Burgess.

NEW YORK DOLLS originally formed in 1971, the New York Dolls are best known for influencing a generation of artists in New York and London who went on to form the first punk rock and heavy metal bands. Largely influenced themselves by the rock and roll of the Rolling Stones and the Stooges as well as the glam rock made by David Bowie and T. Rex, the legendary original Dolls line-up only recorded two ground-breaking, seminal albums, New York Dolls and Too Much Too Soon, before disbanding in 1976.

After reuniting in 2004 (at the behest of Morrissey, the head of the band’s UK fan club in the 1970s), the band went on to record a pair of critically acclaimed records – 2006’s One Day It Will Please Us to Remember Even This and 2009’s ‘Cause I Sez So.