Music News

Sum 41 Release New Single on iTunes, Prepare for New Album

After spending nearly all of last year on the road, including their 4th headlining run on the 2010 Vans Warped Tour – RIAA platinum Island Records group SUM 41 has completed the most long-awaited new studio album of their career.  Screaming Bloody Murder, arriving March 29th jumps out with the title tune single, “Screaming Bloody Murder,” impacting now at Alternative Rock radio formats.

Screaming Bloody Murder, which opens up a second decade for Sum 41 on Island Records, marks the first album to be fully self-produced Sum 41’s Deryck Whibley.  The two-time JUNO Award-winning Canadian band is: Deryck Whibley (lead vocals, guitar, keyboard/piano), Tom Thacker (lead guitar, vocals), Cone McCaslin (bass, vocals), and Steve Jocz (drums, vocals).

Screaming Bloody Murder follows-up Underclass Hero, released July 2007.  In the interim, Sum 41 issued their first career-spanning collection, All the Good Shit: 14 Solid Gold Hits 2000-2008.  It compiled singles from their debut mini-album Half Hour Of Power (2000), and all four of their full-length studio albums: All Killer No Filler (2001), Does This Look Infected? (2002, Chuck (2004), and Underclass Hero (2007).  Also featured on All the Good Shit is one previously unreleased track (“Always”), and live performances of two favorites, “The Hell Song” and “Motivation,” both also included in studio versions.

Prior to All the Good Shit, Sum 41’s most recent studio album Underclass Hero debuted at #1 (and earned instant gold certification) in Canada and Japan – where it ousted fellow Island band Bon Jovi’s album Lost Highway from the top in Japan after a one month stand at #1.  In an unprecedented move to launch Underclass Hero, the band performed the album live in its entirety on their website,  Underclass Hero was produced (for the first time) by the band’s own Deryck Whibley, who had also written and produced tracks for Avril Lavigne’s album, The Best Damn Thing.

Underclass Hero
followed-up Chuck (October 2004), #10 on the Billboard 200 with over 1 million copies sold worldwide.  The album was named for the United Nations worker who daringly rescued Sum 41 from bombs and gunfire during the filming of a documentary in the Congo with nonprofit group War Child Canada.  Chuck spun off three consecutive Top 20 Modern Rock chart singles: “We’re All To Blame,” “Pieces,” and “No Reason.”

Now, fans can purchase the new single, “Screaming Bloody Murder” on iTunes and Amazon today. For more information and updates on the band including tour plans, check out their official site,, as well as their MySpace and Facebook pages and look for Screaming Bloody Murder in stores everywhere March 29th!