Music News

Duff McKagan, Barrett Martin Form Walking Papers; New Track Debuts Featuring Pearl Jam’s Mike McCready

Walking Papers
Walking Papers

Seattle’s Walking Papers, the much-buzzed-about new band featuring rock luminaries Duff McKagan (Guns N’ Roses, Velvet Revolver), Barrett Martin (Screaming Trees, Mad Season), Jeff Angell and Benjamin Anderson (both of The Missionary Position) have signed with Loud & Proud Records and are gearing up for the August 6th release of their self-titled debut.

Recorded in Seattle and mixed by veteran producer Jack Endino (Soundgarden, Nirvana, Mudhoney), Walking Papersfeatures a guest appearance by Pearl Jam guitarist Mike McCready, who played on lead single “The Whole World’s Watching” and “I’ll Stick Around.” Rolling Stone spotlighted the latter, praising it as a “slow, grinding blues pace that combines elements of Morphine and Tom Waits.” The song can be heard here:

“The Whole World’s Watching” will hit rock and alternative radio in June.

Guitarist/vocalist Jeff Angell and drummer Barrett Martin formed the band last year and played their first shows inSeattle as a duo.  They became a trio with the addition of bassist Duff McKagan and a quartet when keyboardist Benjamin Anderson joined the fray. Angell and Martin also served as the album’s co-producers.

Walking Papers show that a great song can be conveyed with thundering drums, rumbling bass, and a howling guitar just as easily as it can with percolating marimbas and shimmering vibraphone. The songs on this album can stand alone as individual stories, but taken together as a whole, they convey a much larger narrative with tales of wandering souls, the collisions of will, and the dark beauty of the American heart.

The band has already received media praise from both sides of the pond, with noted Seattle Times rock critic  Charles R. Cross saying the band’s brightness rivaled the sun’s and, unlike so many supergroups, its future might be even brighter, and UK mag Classic Rock praising the band’s collection of songs as “a masterpiece of mood and tension.”

The band will celebrate the release of Walking Papers with a headlining slot on the second stage of this year’s Rockstar Energy Drink Uproar Festival. The tour, which features Alice In Chains, Jane’s Addiction, and many more, kicks off August 9th at the Toyota Pavilion at Montage Mountain in Scranton, PA.

About signing Walking Papers, Loud & Proud Owner and President Tom Lipsky said, “Members of Walking Papers have earned critical acclaim and success throughout their respective careers. What impresses me most about them however is that they continue to invest their creativity and energy in breaking new ground and in taking their music directly to the fans. I am excited that they chose Loud & Proud as their label and I look forward to a successful partnership.”

“Walking Papers is thrilled to be holding the nail while Loud & Proud swings the hammer,” said vocalist/guitarist Jeff Angell. “It is with great confidence that we put our songs in Tom Lipsky’s very capable hands.”

About Loud & Proud Records:

Loud & Proud Records was founded in 2007 by Tom Lipsky, and is currently in an exclusive distribution, marketing and label services agreement with RED Distribution, a division of Sony Music Entertainment. The label’s mission is to provide a true and transparent partnership between artists and their record label.  Loud & Proud aims to establish and proliferate a new business model which will appeal to both veteran and emerging artists of all levels and status.  Labels under Lipsky’s direction in the past (CMC International, Sanctuary) have been among the market leaders in the veteran artist space, delivering Gold and Platinum albums and DVDs for Neil Young, Lynyrd Skynyrd, KISS, The Allman Brothers Band, Widespread Panic, Iron Maiden, Styx, Megadeth, Bad Company, REO Speedwagon and more. In a previous joint-venture with Roadrunner Records, Loud & Proud was responsible for new albums by Rush, Rob Zombie, Lynyrd Skynyrd, KISS, Lenny Kravitz, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, The Steve Miller Band, Collective Soul, Meat Loaf and Ratt.  Loud & Proud Records is a registered trademark of Lipsky Music, LLC.

Don’t miss your chance to catch Walking Papers live. Uproar tour dates are as follows:


9 – Scranton, PA – Toyota Pavilion At Montage Mountain

10 – Hartford, CT – The Comcast Theatre

11 – Darien Center, NY – Darien Lake Performing Arts Center

13 – Saratoga Springs, NY – Saratoga Performing Arts Center

14        Mansfield, MA – Comcast Center

16        Bristow, VA – Jiffy Lube Live

17        Holmdel, NJ – PNC Bank Arts Center

18 – Wantagh, NY – Nikon At Jones Beach Theater

20 – Toronto, ON – Molson Canadian Amphitheatre

22 – Tinley Park, IL – First Midwest Bank Amphitheatre

23 – Nobleville, IN – Klipsch Music Center

24 – Clarkston, MI – DTE Energy Music Theater

27 – Oklahoma City, OK – Zoo Amphitheater

28 – Dallas, TX – Gexa Energy Pavilion

29 – Woodlands, TX – Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion

31 – Albuquerque, NM – Isleta Amphitheatre


1 – Englewood, CO – Fiddler’s Green Amphitheatre

2 – Salt Lake City, UT – USANA Amphitheatre

5 – Nampa, ID – Idaho Center Amphitheater

8 – Ridgefield, WA – Sleep Country Amphitheater

11 – Mountain View, CA – Shoreline Amphitheatre

13 – Phoenix, AZ – Desert Sky Pavilion

14 – Chula Vista, CA – Sleep Train Amphitheatre

15 – Irvine, CA – Verizon Wireless Amphitheater