Music News

THE MATERIAL: Continue Ascension With ‘Everything I Want To Say’


The buzz surrounding South California rockers, The Material continues to build with the recent release of the band’s sophomore album, “Everything I Want To Say”. Produced by Kyle Black (Paramore, Pierce The Veil, All Time Low, Neon Trees, Set Your Goals, At The Drive In) Everything follows the success of 2011’s What We Are,” an accomplished album that spawned the hit single “What Happens Next”.

About the new album, front woman, Colleen D’Agostino, says, “‘Everything I Want To Say,’ is a collection of thoughts and memories over the past two years. Although it shows a much more raw and personal side of The Material, my hope is that it will be relatable to anyone who has ever experienced the love, loss, inspiration and desperation described in my lyrics. This album is a journey through our growth as a band over the years, and in my mind, is a more real rock take on anything we have ever done. New sounds aside, the album still echoes back to what we have always been about as a band – sharing the sometimes harsh realities with our listeners, but always with a silver lining.”

“Life Vest,” the emotionally-charged lead single from EIWTS leaps out of speakers, enrapturing collective consciousness with its positive messages of hope and perseverance. To adequately portray its vibrant vitality, visionary director Raul Gonzo (VersaEmerge, All Time Low, Enter Shakiri, Blood On The Dance Floor) was tapped to bring its glory to life amidst tidal waves of water. Gonzo also captured abstract footage to visually accompany the 45-second interlude,“The Great Unknown”.

In a world where the music that moves us is so often defined by its genre or label, The Material,comprised of Colleen D’Agostino (Vocals), Jon Moreaux (Guitar), Roi Elam (Guitar), Kevin Pintado (Drums) and Jordan Meckley (Bass), represent art that is thoughtful, powerful, organic and inspiring. Soulful and raspy female lead, D’Agostino, delivers powerhouse vocals over precise drumming, melodic guitar riffs and driving bass lines – creating an undeniable connection between their music and audience. It’s no surprise that connectivity is at the core of the group’s collective mantra, To Life,” which is inked in each members’ skin.

The band’s growing fan base has risen with every mile added to their tour van’s odometer. From owning a spot in PureVolume’s Top 20 Unsigned Bands, to headlining the PictureHealing Winter Tour, to the Motel 6 “Rock Yourself To Sleep Tour” (Every Avenue, There For Tomorrow), to co-bills with Eyes Set To KillSing It LoudThe Secret HandshakeNew Years DayIvorylineBad RabbitsI the Mighty and Blameshift, to spots on multiple Vans Warped Tours (2008, ‘10, ‘11) and three featured performances at SXSW, The Material’s passion-filled music and electrifying live performances have made a significant impact on tastemakers everywhere. Revered by MF Magazine as “smashing,”and highlighted by Alternative Press, MTV, Music Connection, Beatweek Magazine, Black Velvet Magazine, Substream Music Press and, the band is without question leaving an impact on true music enthusiasts.

As their fourth independent release continues to make waves, the scope of the band’s musical reach is wider than ever – highlighted by over 450,000 downloads and an extensive catalog of song placements. With The Material’s original compositions already making an imprint on shows such as MTV Australia’sFreshwater Blue, MTV’s The Hills, and the WB’s Sorority Forever, as well as the video game, Rock Band,the band’s music continues to be in high demand with “Stay Here Forever” from What We Are hand-picked for inclusion in the feature film, Something Wicked, an upcoming theatrical release that marks the final performance of actress Brittany Murphy (CluelessGirl, Interrupted8 MileSin CityHappy Feet and Riding in Cars with Boys).

At the precipice of breakthrough success, The Material were born to make a sound, both musically and sociometrically. Their organic and authentic approach to making music manifests in their commitment to their fans – always encouraging audiences everywhere with their heartfelt, positive messages to keep believing and keep on breathing.

Jun 01 – Lancaster, CA @ Bravery Brewing (Acoustic show)
Jun 02 – Long Beach, CA @ DiPiazza’s
Jun 30 – W. Hollywood, CA @ The Roxy
July 05 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill

1. Life Vest
2. Born To Make A Sound
3. Tonight I’m Letting Go
4. Running Away
5. Bottles
6. Skin And Bone
7. Gasoline
8. The Great Unknown
9. Love Me Or Leave Me
10. Let Me In Again
11. Chances