Music News

The Melvins’ Buzz Osborne Releases Full-Length Solo Debut On June 3rd


Buzz Osborne, the legendary grunge progenitor who has helmed the Melvins for thirty plus years, releases his debut solo full-length album, This Machine Kills Artists, on June 3 via Ipecac Recordings.

“I have no interest in sounding like a crappy version of James Taylor or a half-assed version of Woody Guthrie,” said the grunge progenitor of the 17-song offering, continuing, “which is what happens when almost every rock and roller straps on an acoustic guitar. No thanks… This Machine Kills Artists is a different kind of animal.”

Rolling Stone gave listeners early access to music from Osborne’s acoustic release, premiering the song “Dark Brown Teeth”: Click here to listen!. The magazine described the song as “doomy, ill-angled” and with the “Beefheartian edge his band is renown for.”

Osborne is currently touring for the first time as a solo artist, wrapping up a three-week trek that included a SXSW interview session with The Stooges’ James Williamson. Remaining dates are: March 20 at Zanzabar in Louisville, March 21 at Radio Radio in Indianapolis, March 22 at Beat Kitchen in Chicago and March 23 at the High Noon Saloon in Madison. An extensive North American tour kicking off in June will be announced shortly.

‘This Machine Kills Artists’ track listing:

  • Dark Brown Teeth
  • Rough Democracy
  • Laid Back Walking
  • Drunken Baby
  • Vaulting Over A Microphone
  • New River
  • The Vulgar Joke
  • Everything’s Easy For You
  • The Ripping Driving
  • How I Became Offensive
  • Instrument of God
  • The Spoiled Brat
  • Illegal Mona
  • Good and Hostile
  • The Blithering Idiot
  • Useless King of the Punks
  • The Hesitation Twist