Music News

Pixies Announce Second Leg of North American Tour And Additional Tour Dates


It’s not even a year since Pixies surprised the world with “Bagboy,” the band’s first new song in a decade, and they have hardly stopped to take a breath since. More new music surprises followed in the forms of EP-1, EP-2 and EP-3 culminating with the April 29 release of Indy Cindy, (“…well worth the wait…” USA Today), their first studio album in 22 years, plus ten innovative music videos, and sold out tours across Europe, Australia, North and South America – but they’re not done yet.

Today Pixies announce a second wave of North American dates that will include a special evening under the stars at the famed Hollywood Bowl on September 28. For registered members of Pixies Fan Club, ticket pre-sale begins today; the public on-sale is set for this Friday, May 9. Log onto for complete purchasing details.

Pixies – Black Francis/guitars, vocals, Joey Santiago/guitars, backing vocals and drummer, backing vocalist David Lovering – will be joined on these dates by touring bassist Paz Lenchantin who joined the touring lineup in January. Royal Blood will open on the bulk of the tour dates; for the Hollywood Bowl show, Gogol Bordello and Cat Power will provide support.

Confirmed dates for Leg Two of Pixies North American trek are as follows:

27 Humphreys, San Diego, CA
28 Hollywood Bowl, Los Angeles, CA
30 The Masonic, San Francisco, CA

2 Revolution Center, Boise, ID
3 INB Performing Arts Center, Spokane, WA
5 MacEwan Hall, Calgary, AB CANADA
6 Shaw Conference Center, Edmonton, AB CANADA
7 TCU Place, Saskatoon, SK CANADA
9 Burton Cummings Theatre, Winnipeg, MB CANADA
11 State Theatre, Minneapolis, MN
12 Orpheum Theatre, Madison, WI

While Pixies have been acclaimed as the most influential, pioneering band of the late 80s alt/rock movement, having blazed the trail for artists from Nirvana to Radiohead to Pearl Jam, today, a whole new generation of music fans are discovering their iconic “loudquietloud” signature sound. After five genre-defining studio albums, Pixies disbanded in 1993, and then launched their reunion tour in April 2004, playing to sell-out crowds all over the globe for seven years, a longer period of time than they were a band originally. But writing, recording and releasing new music was something that the band had been wanting to do for a long time, so they secretly booked studio time in Wales for the fall of 2012. Six days into the recording, founding bassist Kim Deal decided to leave the band; Black Francis, Joey Santiago and David Lovering made the decision to carry on, recording and releasing Indie Cindy (April 29, 2014), the band’s first new studio album in more than two decades, and working with a variety of touring bassists, something they’d never done. As the UK’s DIY wrote about the new music, “They’re back. They’re still brilliant. God save the Pixies.”