Music News

Gary Cherone’s Hurtsmile To Release ‘Retrogrenade’ On October 7th


Frontman extraordinaire/songwriter Gary Cherone (Extreme/Van Halen) is proud to announce the release of the sophomore album from Hurtsmile, his collaboration with brother/guitarist Mark Cherone; RETROGRENADE will be available in North America on October 7th via Cherone’s own Slipkid Records.  Following up on the band’s acclaimed self-titled debut in 2011, the fan-funded RETROGRENADE pays homage to almost every genre Cherone has excelled at in the past. Inspired by the classic rock records they grew up on, RETROGRENADE is the collective effort of Hurtsmile flexing their musical muscle.

Hurtsmile - 'Retrogrenade'
Hurtsmile – ‘Retrogrenade’

Of RETROGRENADE, Gary Cherone commented, “The strength of this record is that all the members of the band contributed to the songwriting process which resulted in a wonderfully creative diversity.  This second effort has been a natural progression and we’ve yet to repeat ourselves musically.”

Gary Cherone’s career is rooted in classic rock, but his innate diversity and broad influences have created unexpected detours and surprises. Extreme is the formidable genesis of Cherone’s career; its “funky metal” roots and ubiquitous #1 smash hit “More Than Words,” introduced Cherone to the mainstream, but it was Extreme’s captivating performance at the Freddie Mercury Tribute concert that finally put him on the world stage.  A few years later Cherone would be asked to join the legendary Van Halen and co-write their VH3 with the band and tour the world once again.

In 2011, Gary teamed up with his brother Mark Cherone (Flesh/SuperZero), Joe Pessia (Tantric/DramaGods) and Dana Spellman to record the self-titled debut, HURTSMILE, a musically aggressive sucker punch to the face featuring Cherone’s most provocative lyrics to date.  Hurtsmile‘s music is chock-full of swaggering guitars, soaring vocals and trademark eclecticism, with The Boston Globe declaring the quartet, hard-hitting.”  Hurtsmile is Gary Cherone (vocals), Mark Cherone (guitars), Joe Pessia (bass, mandolin) and Dana Spellman (drums, percussion).

Hurtsmile RETROGRENADE track listing:

1.    Rock N’ Roll Cliche

2.    Hello, I Must Be Going

3.    Big Government

4.    I Still Do

5.    Sing A Song (My Mia)

6.    Anymore (Don’t Want My Love)

7.    Where Do We Go From Here

8.    A Melody For You

9.    Wonder What

10.  Walk Away

11.  Goodbye

12.  Pump It Up

For more information, please visit: