Music News

Jeff Bridges & The Abiders To Release Live Album On September 30th

Jeff Bridges & The Abiders
Jeff Bridges & The Abiders

Jeff Bridges & The Abiders will release a new album titled Live (Mailboat Records) on September 30. The 14-track album will include live recordings of songs from his debut album Be Here Soon and self-titled follow up on Blue Note Records, as well as original music from the critically-acclaimed film Crazy Heart and some of Bridges’ favorite chosen covers of The Byrds, Tom Waits and Creedence Clearwater Revival. Jeff Bridges & The Abiders Live is now available for pre-order online. Pre-order the album now at iTunes (Click here to purchase) and instantly receive the new, unreleased track “Exception to the Rule.”

Live was recorded during concert performances at Red Rock Casino in Las Vegas earlier this summer. The album was produced and mixed by the band’s musical director Chris Pelonis and mastered by Kim Rosen (Franz Ferdinand, Dashboard Confessional) at Knack Mastering. Earlier this month the band wrapped a run of summer shows and their first east coast tour.

“We’ve been touring this summer and this is what we came up with,” said Bridges. “The tunes have many sources – John Goodwin wrote a bunch, T Bone Burnett, Stephen Bruton, and Gary Nicholson wrote a few. We do a beautiful Tom Waits tune, a little Creedence, some Byrds, Townes Van Zandt; Greg Brown, I wrote a tune with T Bone that’s on there. The band sounds great. I’m digging it.”

Following the release of Bridges’ self-titled album in 2011, the album debuted at #25 on the Billboard charts while also notching chart debuts on the Folk Albums #2, Top Rock Albums #5, and Top Country Albums #10 charts. Although previously releasing his debut album Be Here Soon in 2000, it was his portrayal of a grizzled former country music legend in the 2009 film Crazy Heart, an Academy Award-winning performance, that helped reignite his musical passions alongside Crazy Heart collaborator, the Academy Award-winning, multiple-Grammy Award-winning songwriter, musician, and producer T Bone Burnett.

Over the years, Bridges’ musical endeavors have led him to perform at Neil Young’s annual Bridge School Benefit concert, on the charity-single remake of We Are the World, with his band on the Today ShowTonight Show with Jay LenoAustin City LimitsLive with Regis & KellyThe Colbert Report, live sessions for Yahoo!SiriusXMAOL Music, and shows throughout the country. The band has been performing live across the U.S. from clubs to theatres to the famed Stagecoach country music festival. Fans will be able to catch Bridges performing and hosting, alongside co-host Sheryl Crow, during the upcoming primetime PBS special “Austin City Limits Celebrates 40 Years,” set to air Friday, October 3rd at 9:00pm eastern.

Bridges’ latest film work The Giver is currently in theaters, with his next project Seventh Son slated to be released in early 2015.

Jeff Bridges & The Abiders are Jeff Bridges (vocals, guitar, keyboards), Chris Pelonis (guitar, keyboards, vocals), Bill Flores (pedal steel, guitar), Randy Tico (upright, electric bass), and Tom Lackner (drums, percussion).


1)    Blue Car

2)    I Don’t Know

3)    What A Little Bit of Love Can Do

4)    Maybe I Missed The Point

5)    Exception to the Rule

6)    She Lay Her Whip Down

7)    Lookin’ Out My Back Door (cover)

8)    Slow Boat

9)    Van Gogh In Hollywood

10)    To Live Is To Fly (cover)

11)    Fallin’ & Flyin’

12)    Never Let You Go

13)    So You Want To Be a Rock & Roll Star (cover)

14)    Somebody Else

For more information, please visit Jeff Bridges online:

Official website:


Twitter: @TheJeffBridges

Mailboat Records:

Share Our Strength No Kid