Music News

Ume To Release ‘Too Big World’ EP On April 7th Via Dangerbird Record


Austin rock band Ume today announced the release of a new EP entitled Too Big World. The six-track offering will be released on Dangerbird Records on April 7th and is currently available for pre-order now HERE. Those who pre-order the album will receive an instant download of the title track. The new EP features covers of Neil Young’s “Hey Hey, My My (Into the Black)” and Archers of Loaf’s “Web In Front,” as well as unreleased b-sides from the band’s recording sessions with producer Adam Kasper (QOTSA, Cat Power, Nirvana).

Ume - 'Too Big World'
Ume – ‘Too Big World’


This year’s SXSW will find Ume’s Lauren Larson 8 months pregnant, fronting the explosive trio for 2 rare acoustic performances.  On March 19th Ume will perform live at Dangerbird’s SXSW showcase in Austin, TX at Red 7.  For a complete list of upcoming dates, click HERE.

Ume released their critically acclaimed sophomore album Monuments in March of 2014 on Dangerbird Records and was praised by Brooklyn Vegan as “surprisingly heavy, powerful and charming.” Nylon declared: “This band is ready to break out in a whole new way… A little like fuzzy shoegaze, raw garage rock and irresistible pop all rolled into one fiery package,” while Village Voice proclaimed “When it comes to art, psychedelia, and rock and roll, it doesn’t get much better.”

Hailing from Austin, Texas, Ume is Lauren Larson (Vocals, Guitar), Eric Larson (Bass), and Aaron Perez (Drums).  Rarely is the platform for women in rock updated as authoritatively as its been done with this band. The trio’s music is one of beautiful juxtapositions: the loud and soft, the aggressive and eerie, buoyant melodies bursting through wall-of-noise dissonance. Ume explores the artier, heavier side of indie rock, post-punk, and alternative rock. Still, underneath this Ume possesses an air of intelligence and depth. As Metal Hammer UK declared: “If a futuristic amalgam of Mastodon and Queens of the Stone Age were to jam a bunch of Fugazi tunes and rope in PJ Harvey on vocals, then this could well be the result.”

Too Big World EP Track Listing

1. Hey Hey, My My (Into The Black)

2. Too Big World

3. Gleam (Acoustic)

4. Barricade

5. Web In Front

6. Common Queen