Pop Culture News

MTV FANDOM FEST To Kick Off July 9th During Comic Con In San Diego


MTV  has announced that Tyler Posey (“Teen Wolf”) and Bella Thorne (“Scream”) are set to host the second annual “MTV Fandom Awards,” which honors diehard fans whose tenacious excitement has pushed movies, TV shows, books and comics from subculture to mainstream worldwide success in the past year.

This year’s hosts will join the party at the network’s “MTV Fandom Fest,” a free party at Petco Park open to all Comic Con badge holders featuring food, drinks, games and giveaways, on Thursday, July 9. The day-long fan event will lead into the taping of the “MTV Fandom Awards Special,” which will premiere Sunday, July 12 at 8 p.m. ET/PT on MTV.

“As a complete fan girl myself, I cannot explain how amazing it will be to host the ‘MTV Fandom Awards,’ said Bella Thorne. It’s going to be really fun and I can’t wait to hit the stage with Tyler.”

“I had such a blast last year as a nominee and a winner at the ‘MTV Fandom Awards’ that yes was my only answer when I was presented the chance to host the show,” said Tyler Posey.  The fans have loved and supported ‘Teen Wolf’ for so long so this is another cool way to celebrate with them.”

On the nominations front, Star Wars shoots first with a “Best Fandom Forever” nod while One Direction bows in the new “Fandom Army of the Year” category. Star Wars and One Direction are both also nominated for “Feels Freak Out of the Year,” which celebrates the craziest fandom moments that sent shockwaves through the worlds of social media and YouTube.

Additional new categories include “Best New Fandom of the Year,” which includes juggernauts “Empire” and “How to Get Away with Murder” among the nominees, “Social Superstar of the Year” and “Animation Fandom of the Year.” The final new category, “Best Revival Fandom of the Year,” touts nominees ranging from blockbuster film franchises (GhostbustersJurassic World and Mad Max Fury Road) to classic television phenoms (“Fuller House,” “X-Files” and “Twin Peaks”). Fans can start voting today at FandomAwards.MTV.comthrough July 8 at 6 p.m. ET.

Nominees for returning categories “Fandom of the Year,” presented by Kit Kat bars, which features 32 nominees going head-to-head across four brackets spanning movies, TV dramas, comedies and reality programming, and “Ship of the Year,” presented by Coca-Cola with voting exclusively on Tumblr, will be announced at a later date.

“We’re so excited to return to San Diego for a second year to celebrate what has really been one of the most monumental years for fandom,” said Ryan Kroft, Senior Vice President of Programming Specials and Events for MTV. “From revival fandoms to brand new fandoms to fandom armies, the ‘MTV Fandom Awards’ is for all the people truly devoted to and passionate about the pop culture they love.”

The Nominees for the “MTV Fandom Awards” include:

Best New Fandom of the Year

•       “Empire”

•       “Gotham”

•       “Girl Meets World”

•       “How to Get Away with Murder”

•       “iZombie”

•       “Younger”

Feels Freakout of the Year 

•        “American Horror Story: Hotel” – Lady Gaga casting

•       “Vampire Diaries” – Nina Dobrev leaving

•       “Game of Thrones” – ‘Winter is Here’

•       “Pretty Little Liars” – Who is Charles?

•       Star Wars – trailers released

•       Zayn leaves One Direction

Best Fandom Forever (BFF) 

•       Mean Girls

•       “Fresh Prince of Bel-Air”

•       The Twilight Saga

•       “Friends”

•       Star Wars

•       “The Office”

Fandom Army of the Year

•       All Time Low – Hustlers

•       One Direction – Directioners

•       Taylor Swift – Swifties

•       Ed Sheeran – Sheerios

•       Nicki Minaj – Barbz

•       Fifth Harmony – Harmonizers

•       Shawn Mendes – Mendes Army

Social Superstar of the Year

•       Tyler Oakley

•       Jerome Jarre

•       Andrea Russett

•       Lohanthony

•       Hannah Hart

•       Superwoman

Animation Fandom of the Year

•       “Family Guy”

•       “The Simpsons”

•       “Big Hero 6”

•       “Adventure Time”

•       “Bob’s Burgers”

•       “Legend of Korra”

Best Revival Fandom of the Year

•       “Fuller House”

•       Ghostbusters

•       “The X-Files”

•       “Twin Peaks”

•       Mad Max: Fury Road

•       Jurassic World

Official sponsors of the “MTV Fandom Awards” and “MTV Fandom Fest” include Coca-Cola, Kit Kat, LG G4, Pizza Hut, and The U.S. Air Force.

Ryan Kroft and Eric Conte are the Executive Producers of the “MTV Fandom Awards” and Andria Parides serves as Supervising Producer. Wendy Plaut is the Executive in Charge of Celebrity Talent. Gina Esposito is the Executive in Charge of Music Talent. Joe Buoye is the Executive in Charge of Production.