The Sounds
Music News

THE SOUNDS To Unleash ‘Things We Do For Love’ Album In May, U.S. Tour Dates Announced!

“Write as many good songs as possible and enjoy it while you’re on a roll. We had a great time writing this one! No pressure just having fun,” explains vocalist Maja Ivarsson for Swedish indie rockers THE SOUNDS about the goal for the new album THINGS WE DO FOR LOVE which is set for release on May 1, 2020.  Fortuitously, not only did they have a great time working on this record, they delivered 11 songs that rank among the best in their six album oeuvre.  “It’s always been about being in the moment and trying to catch a good melody, chord progression or lyrics when it comes to you.”  The first single to be released from the album is the title track which can be streamed here.

Resonating the excitement and dynamism that they’ve always brought to the table for each successive album, The Sounds have outdone themselves in rhythm and melody with this album. Kicking off with the propulsive title track, the innate chemistry among the five band members converge in a melodic synergy. “Things We Do For Love” strains with Johan Richter’s muscular staccato bassline that highlights Maja’s very distinctive assertive vocals while the guitar work of Felix Rodriguez along with the keyboards and guitar from Jesper Anderberg weave in and out of Fredrik Blond’s focused drums. It’s a seamlessness that carries throughout the album. The pulsating keys in “Safe and Sound” (which Maja describes as “having the courage to dive into something new as long as you got that special person right next to you”) continue to propel the band forward, while the atmospheric and balladic “Changes” displays the band’s diversity and ability to effortlessly craft impactful songs. “I can’t put my finger on what it is exactly but I really like the vibe of ‘Changes’,” says Fredrik. “It’s a simple song and all the instruments and vocals just fit together so nicely.” 

The Sounds - Things We Do For Love

THINGS WE DO FOR LOVE – Track listing

1. Things We Do For Love
2. Safe and Sound
3. Changes
4. Bonnie and Clyde
5. Hollow
6. Fingertips
7. Dreaming of You
8. Dim The Lights
9. Stay Free
10. Home
11. Miami

with Special Guests Starbenders

April 28 – Brooklyn, NY – Rough Trade
April 29 – New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom
April 30 – Washington, DC – Black Cat
May 1 – Durham, NC – Motorco Music Hall
May 2 – Atlanta, GA – Shaky Knees Festival
May 4 – Nashville, TN – The Cowan
May 5 – Chicago, IL – Cobra Lounge
May 6 – St Louis, MO – The Ready Room
May 8 – Denver, CO – The Oriental Theatre
May 9 – Salt Lake City, UT – The Complex
May 11 – Los Angeles, CA – Troubadour
May 13 – San Diego, CA – Music Box
May 14 – Pioneertown, CA – Pappy + Harriets
May 15 – San Francisco, CA – Slim’s
May 16 – Las Vegas, NV – Backstage Bar


A dynamic and exciting live band, the band thrives and truly enjoys being on the stage in the live performance context. With a tour of intimate rock clubs and theaters that kicks off on April 28th at Brooklyn’s Rough Trade, the band will travel the length of the US with shows in DC (Black Cat on April 30th), Chicago (Cobra Lounge on May 5tth), Denver (The Oriental Theater on May 8th ), Los Angeles (Troubadour on May 11th), and wraps up May 16th in Las Vegas, NV before heading back overseas for a summer of major headlines and festival appearances.

“It’s gonna be absolutely amazing coming back to the U.S again,” says Maja excitedly. “It feels like coming home. We’ve done almost 20 tours on American soil and we love every bit of it. Great fans, great venues and the good free spirit!”

Adds Fredrik, “I’m very excited to return to the U.S. Very very excited! Can’t wait to get back on the road again with my bandmates and our crew. See you there!”

Formed in 1998 in Sweden, The Sounds exploded on the alt-rock scene with their wildly lauded 2003 debut Living in America and its breakthrough singles “Seven Days a Week”, “Rock’n Roll”, and the aptly named title track. Fronted by the striking Maja Ivarsson, The Sounds have continued to remain on the forefront of the music scene, releasing a handful of albums, each spawning single after single like “Tony the Beat”, “Painted By Numbers”, “Song With A Mission”, “No One Sleeps When I’m Awake”, “Beatbox”, “Something to Die For”, “Shake Shake Shake” and “Thrill”.

“I can only speak for myself but I feel very proud of this one. I’m able to write songs from a different perspective this time, being a mom and all,” beams Maja, referring to her baby boy who just turned five years old earlier this year. “It’s been quite some time since we last released an album and a lot of great things have happened in between.”

The Sounds is Maja Ivarsson (vocals), Felix Rodriguez (guitar), Jesper Anderberg (guitar, keyboards), Johan Richter (bass), and Fredrik Blond (drums). Things We Do For Love will be released on May 1, 2020.