Music News

Bass Drum of Death To Release of New Album, ‘Just Business,’ On July 27th!

Bass Drum of Death – the brainchild of Oxford, Mississippi native and multi-instrumentalistJohn Barrett – is back with their first new album in over four years, Just Business, slated for release worldwide on July 27th via RED MUSIC. This record marks the fourth released under the Bass Drum of Death moniker and first since 2014’s acclaimed record,Rip This. Just Business will be available on vinyl and digital formats when released, but pre-orderis happening now via Fans who pre-order the digital release will receive an instant download of the title track “Just Business” and the recently released song, “Heavy.”

From the instantly-catchy guitar riff of opener “Third Coast Dreaming,” a nod to John’s Gulf Coast home, to the bombastic outro of aptly-titled closer “Leaving,” Just Business showcases the depth and growth of the band’s catalog. Recorded over the span of a year in a studio space overlooking the congestion and hustle of Times Square, the album is packed with every bit of the feedback-soaked, garage wallop of past BDoD fare and openly explores Barrett’s evolved songwriting like never before.

“There’s a certain kind of trouble that you’re able to get into in New York that you’re not able to get in anywhere else,” explains Barrett, who recently traded his down south roots for the bustling city. “For years I’ve been known as ‘The Garage Rock Guy’ and I think this record highlights how much of a better singer and songwriter I’ve gotten to be. You can actually hear what I’m singing!”

In anticpation of the release, Bass Drum of Death recently released a music video for the song “Heavy.” The video is based on a true story of unspoken violent events taking place along the US/Mexico border. Upon learning of such events via the video’s director, Barrett felt compelled to make this story central to the visual treatment for the song. Watch the video for “Heavy” below!

Just Business Tracklisting:

  1. Third Coast Dreaming
  2. Too High
  3. Diamond in the Rough
  4. Failing Up
  5. Heavy
  6. I Don’t Wanna Know
  7. Odds Are Good
  8. Just Business
  9. I Love You (I Think)
  10. I Thought I Told You
  11. Leaving

Creating original music as Bass Drum of Death for over a decade, founder John Barrett started as a one-man-band playing guitar and bass drum by himself. This formula was incorporated on to the first offical release, 2011’s GB City. Songs from that first album have been used in the movie Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance, the successful video game MLB2K12and the popular BBC show Waterloo Road. The self-titled 2013 release and 2014’s Rip This solidifed Bass Drum of Death’s infectious punk-influenced, hard rock sound. The band’s music has been featured in national H&M ad campaigns as well as licensed by NASCAR. 2018 marks a return to form for Bass Drum of Death with the release of Just Business via RED MUSIC.