Pop Culture News

Cinedigm Acquires North American Rights To ‘The Final Wish’ Starring Lyn Shaye

Lin Shaye in ‘The Last Wish’

Cinedigm has announced that it has acquired all North American Distribution rights to Status Media & Entertainment’s THE FINAL WISH, a horror film starring Lin Shaye (Insidious, Ouija)Michael Welch (Twilight Franchise, All The Boys Love Mandy Lane), Spencer Locke (Insidious: The Last Key, Resident Evil: Extinction), Melissa Bolona (The Hurricane Heist)and Tony Todd (Candyman, Final Destination).  The film is set to be released by Cinedigm in early 2019.

Directed by Timothy Woodward Jr., and written by Jeffrey Reddick, the creator of the horror franchise Final DestinationTHE FINAL WISH follows a young man (Michael Welch), struggling in his life and career, who returns home to his devastated mother (Lin Shaye) following the passing of his father, an antiques collector.  Once home, he encounters a run of good luck, including winning the lottery and re-connecting with an old flame, but he can’t shake the feeling that there is something sinister at work, and these events may be tied to a mysterious antiquity that, legend has it, grants wishes but kills and steals souls in return.

THE FINAL WISH premiered this past October at the 2018 Screamfest Horror Film Festival, where horror icon Lin Shaye served as the Festival Ambassador.

“Anchored by amazing lead performances from Lin and Michael, THE FINAL WISH is a suspenseful horror film with emotionally-complex characters and themes that remain with viewers long after the credits roll,” said Yolanda Macias, Executive Vice-President of Acquisitions for Cinedigm. “Timothy and his team further elevate the picture with rich production design and beautiful cinematography and, of course, ample scares that will not fail to satisfy genre fans.”

“Finding a partner like Cinedigm has been a ‘wish’ come true,” said Woodward.  “They have been so supportive of this project, and we are all thrilled to finally be sharing it with everyone.”

THE FINAL WISH was produced by Timothy Woodward Jr., Lauren de Normandie, Johnny Cleveland, Jeffrey Reddick and Thommy Huston. Executive Producers include Matthew Helderman, Luke Taylor, Joe Listhaus, Patrick DePeters, Arthur Wylie, Dale Godboldo.