Music News

Rock Legends RUSH To Release ‘Clockwork Angels Tour’ 5LP Set In October

Rush’s final studio album, Clockwork Angels, debuted at #1 in Canada and #2 in the U.S. in 2012, tying it with Moving Pictures (1981) as the highest-ranking debut of the band’s career. Soon after, Rush launched the Clockwork Angels Tour, which featured the band performing for the first time with a string ensemble. The tour would be immortalized on the 2013 live album, CLOCKWORK ANGELS TOUR.

Rhino will release the music from that collection on vinyl for the first time on October 11. CLOCKWORK ANGELS TOUR is pressed on five 180-gram LPs and includes an etching on the flip side of the final album. The set comes packaged in a two-piece telescope box with a full-color booklet, and a code to download a high-definition digital version of the album. You can pre-order the “Clockwork Angels Tour” 5LP Vinyl now at Rush Backstage.

Clockwork Angels was the 19th studio album that Rush made over 38 years, and the last since Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson and Neil Peart stopped recording and touring in 2015. The album was followed by an extensive 73-date tour that ran from September 2012 to August 2013. In November 2012, the band recorded concerts in Phoenix, Dallas and San Antonio for a live album that was released as a 3CD/DVD set in 2013. The new vinyl version of CLOCKWORK ANGELS TOUR includes all 31 tracks from the original CDs.

RUSH - Clockwork Angels Tour

For the concert’s first set, Rush focused mainly on songs from its run of stellar albums in the Eighties with: “Subdivisions” (Signals, 1982); “The Body Electric” (Grace Under Pressure, 1984); and “Force Ten” (Hold Your Fire, 1987). The band’s platinum-certified album Power Windows received a lot of attention throughout the concert, with performances of “The Big Money” and “Grand Designs” along with three more album tracks.

During the concert’s second set, the band performed live with a string ensemble. Led by Canadian conductor David Campbell, the Clockwork Angels String Ensemble accompanied the band on 10 of the 12 songs from the Clockwork Angels. The ensemble also joined the band on “Dreamline” (Roll The Bones, 1991), “YYZ” (Moving Pictures, 1981) and “Red Sector A” (Grace Under Pressure, 1984).

The vinyl set also features the bonus tracks from the original release, including a version of the classic “Limelight” that the band recorded during soundcheck.


LP Side Splits:

Side A


“The Big Money”

“Force Ten”

“Grand Designs”


Side B

“The Body Electric”


“The Analog Kid”



Side C

“Where’s My Thing? / Here It Is!” (Drum Solo)

“Far Cry”

“Caravan” *


Side D

“Clockwork Angels” *

“The Anarchist” *

“Carnies” *


Side E

“The Wreckers”

“Headlong Flight” */ “Drumbastica” (Drum Solo)

“Peke’s Repose” (Guitar Solo) / “Halo Effect” *


Side F

“Seven Cities Of Gold” *

“Wish Them Well” *

“The Garden” *


Side G

“Dreamline” *

“The Percussor”

Binary Love Theme

Steambanger’s Ball (Drum Solo)

“Red Sector A” *

“YYZ” *


Side H

“The Spirit Of Radio”

“Tom Sawyer”



Side I


“Middletown Dreams”

“The Pass”

“Manhattan Project”*


*With the Clockwork Angels String Ensemble